AGM Agenda for the All Party Parliamentary Group on Thrombosis

Minutes for The All Party Parliamentary Group on Thrombosis Annual General Meeting 2022-2023

Wednesday 22nd February 2023 14:00-15:15, Room S Portcullis House

Parliamentarians in attendance

- Lyn Brown MP (Labour)
- Virendra Sharma MP (Labour)
- Steve McCabe MP (Labour)
- Naz Shah MP (Labour)
- Jeff Smith MP (Labour)
- Sharon Hodgson MP (Labour)

Non-Parliamentarians in attendance:

- Prof Beverley Hunt OBE
- Ben Bessey
- Jo Jerrome
- 1. Lyn Brown MP opened the AGM and confirmed that the requisite number of parliamentarians were present for quorate to be met (see list above).
- 2. Election of Officers the following officers were proposed and elected to the following roles by attending parliamentarians in accordance with the APPG rules:
 - 1. Chair and Registered Contact: Lyn Brown MP (Labour)
 - 2. Vice-Chairs: Andrew Gwynne MP (Labour) ; Sir Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative); Bob Blackman MP (Conservative).
- 3. The income and expenditure statement was reviewed by those present and accepted.
- 4. The Chair agreed that Thrombosis UK would remain as Secretariat of the APPG on Thrombosis.
- 5. It was agreed that the minutes would be circulated in according with APPG rules.
- 6. Those present discussed the APPGT work programme for 2023 approving three key areas for focus:
 - (i) Prevention of VTE
 - (ii) Missed diagnosis of VTE
 - (iii) Poor local care
- 7. The Chair closed the meeting.

To promote awareness about the risk and management of venous thromboembolism, also known as thrombosis, deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism and blood clots. To increase understanding of its causes, promote priority research, monitor implementation of recommended practice, increase awareness of long-term impacts, and advocate timely access to diagnosis and treatments.

1